PDA

View Full Version : Stupid question

Nem
03-04-2003, 10:41 PM
im just about to buy a new computer and i would like to build it myself, but i have no idea about computer hardware :(
so, it may seem like a stupid question, but when u buy these parts new and seperately, do they come with instructions on exactly how to install them? :rolleyes: if not are there any sites you recommend of stuff like this?

if i cant do it on my own id have to get someone else to do it :(

elvis
03-04-2003, 10:47 PM
the motherboard manual will give you some very brief instructions, but probably still not enough for a complete beginner.

punching "newbie guide to building a PC" into google gave me this:

http://www.neoseeker.com/Articles/Hardware/Guides/buildyourpc/

google is your friend.

mucksmear
03-04-2003, 11:39 PM
hi Nem,

I just finished building my first computer, with good help from the folks on this forum.

http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=36386

As far as instructions are concerned, I would assume that the quality of instructions vary across diff components and diff brands.

In any event, I found that the instructions that came with my mobo, complimented the instructions that came with my case fairly well (diff brands). When installing the mobo, I found I had to have the instruction manuals for both the case and mobo open at the same time so I could coordinate and cross reference them to determine which parts of the instructions did not apply, and which parts did.

Beyond that, I found the installation and configuring of everything else quite simple and straight forward and very standardized.

My Hard drives did not come with instructions, but their installation was very typical and standardized, and was essentially covered in the mobo manual as well as the case manual, and reference is certainly available online thru the manufacturer's website.

If you can follow instructions you should have no problems. It's fun and rewarding.

kwshipman