PDA

View Full Version : Using match mover with Vue ... tips, advice etc ..

everlite
03-14-2007, 03:16 AM
Hey guys,

Has anyone had any experience with using matchmover with Vue? I just gave it a go and wasn't very successful, granted i'm pretty new to Vue so maybe i'm missing something.

When inputting the distance value into MM what would you suggest?

My test resulting in the camera going complete off the scale, not sure if it was too big or two small, but the viewport was black.

Any tips, advice or suggestions on best results with MM?

- Dave.

IvanB
03-14-2007, 07:22 AM
Hi,

Have a look at these videos and see if they help.

http://www.esnips.com/web/MatchMover

Heres all my videos.

http://www.esnips.com/profile/40dacfe2-91ce-475f-84e5-1805f766e6b9

same, but quicktime format.

http://resources.advancedperceptions.net/Tutorials/Vue/

everlite
03-14-2007, 03:10 PM
Hey Ivan,

I've seen some of your earlier tutorials last year but didn't see the MM stuff. What can i say, that's the jackpot! :-) spot on what i needed. Honestly mate i've been through the MM tutorials and a gnomon DVD and it took your little tutorial to teach me that you could rotate the co-ordinate system into place! One of the biggest problems i've been having. So yeh within 10 minutes i was able to set up a perfect matchmove and get it into Vue no problem!

Just wondering, noticing the green screen process you took, in 3dsMax you can apply a matte shadow material to an object so it just renders the received shadow, can you not do something similar with Vue?

Cheers mate, you're a legend! :thumbsup:

everlite
03-14-2007, 04:50 PM
I think i spoke a little too soon :-)

Please see this short test i did:

http://www.thedaveidentity.co.uk/web/test_mm1.mov (4.5mb QT/S3)

If you look at the corners, notice the slight drifting over the duration of the clip?

The back plate is the top file (flyover) at:

http://www.ssontech.com/download.htm

Any suggestions on what might be causing this?

Cheers - Dave.