PDA

View Full Version : Moving a selection


philnolan3d
03-08-2007, 05:41 AM
Can someone tell me if there is a way to translate/rotate/scale selected polygons? I was playing around with MB and sculpted a head from scratch (from a sphere) and now I realise that my character's ears are too big and positioned wrong. I tried selecting an area and tranlating but that just moves the entire object, ingnoring the selection.

JBoskma
03-08-2007, 06:28 PM
- Export one of your levels as an obj
- Import it into your 3D package (max/maya/xsi/etc.)
- Move the vertex points, without cutting into your mesh. Use a lattice, or just move them by hand.
- Export the new proportioned mesh from your 3D package
- Import it as a layer into the right level, into Mudbox

That should do the trick, good luck!

philnolan3d
03-08-2007, 09:41 PM
- Export one of your levels as an obj
- Import it into your 3D package (max/maya/xsi/etc.)


You forgot Lightwave, clearly the best of the pro packages. :p

It's a shame there isn't a way to do this directly in Mudbox. The best I managed to was go down to the lowest level and use the Move tool with a really large brush size.

Thanks for responding BTW

CGTalk Moderation
03-08-2007, 09:41 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.