PDA

View Full Version : MudBox and ZBrush

Pesto
03-06-2007, 04:21 AM
Hello,
I have both demos and I am foolin' around with each app. I am new to this technology so I am alittle confused. I posted here because I felt alot of people using MudBox have also used ZBrush so I could get some opinions. I am not looking for which app is better, because neither is, but what I don't understand is what can be done in MudBox that can't be done in ZBrush and vice-a-versa. I want an app to model in, texture/paint, and render with. Any preferences?

Thanks

diginime
03-06-2007, 08:14 AM
hi there, if you're going for texturing, painting, Zbrush is the option then because zbrush have the painting ability. wheareas mudbox i just modeling, i guess. Cheers:)

khurrum_j
03-06-2007, 04:05 PM
Hi Pesto,

Both apps are really good at what they do.

The main difference (by public preference, not technical) is that Mudbox has a much
easier user interface and most people new to the program have come up with some
nice 'doodles' in the first 20 minnutes, tops! Me included ;)

With ZBrush, the learning curve is steep. You really need someone to hold your hand with
that app. Of course, there are some who dont need the holding-hands, but on the majority, Mudbox wins hands down in the user interface war...

...BUT (and this is a big one!)

Comparing both the apps generally doesnt make sense. They do similar things when it comes to sculpting and detailing, but there are huge differences. One that comes to mind is that ZBrush is more than just a sculpting tool. You still need to texture and paint your models, no matter which app you use. And then there is this very huge community around ZBrush that Mudbox will take sometime to build. It will get there eventually, but that time is not now.