PDA

View Full Version : XSI Not as good for Architectural Modeling?


synergy11
03-03-2007, 05:08 PM
Hello I always read how XSI is a strong animation package. But I also read that you can do anything else in the program modeling wise as any other program.

However lately I have been experimenting with modeling what I thinik are complex architectural models..like groin and rib vaults.

With help from some good people over in the modeling forum...

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=25&t=468106

I've gotten some good results.
However I ran into some things you can't do in XSI or so it seems.

Example: Lightwave's lathe tool shows results I want that I can't seem to mimic in XSI with the equivalent tool (being revolution around and axis)

I'm wondering what other XSI user's have to say on this topic.

My focus is on modeling and not animating...I'm wondering if there is a better package for Architectural Modeling like Lightwave or MAX.

THanks for any comments

Tekano
03-03-2007, 07:29 PM
With help from some good people over in the modeling forum...

http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthr...p?f=25&t=468106 (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?f=25&t=468106)

I've gotten some good results.
However I ran into some things you can't do in XSI or so it seems.

Example: Lightwave's lathe tool shows results I want that I can't seem to mimic in XSI with the equivalent tool (being revolution around and axis)

I'm wondering what other XSI user's have to say on this topic.

My focus is on modeling and not animating...I'm wondering if there is a better package for Architectural Modeling like Lightwave or MAX.

Sorry Synergy11 from Canada, but I believe your topic should read '3D applications for architectural modeling are only as good as their user' I had no problems at all following Kirigoi's splendid instructions. All he did different between first & 2nd post was alter the original curve shape, to one like below ---> no jiggerey pokery with boleans, simply 2 weld bound edges manouvres to get the edges correct before the merge which does 'weld' the edges together within a slider radius.

http://img125.imageshack.us/img125/3329/groinstatuebe7.jpg

synergy11
03-03-2007, 08:15 PM
How can you reproduce his "Lathe" operation from his first post in XSI?

I do the revolution around axis with the exact profile he used. But I can't get a lower amount of "spin"
The lowest I can get is 6 rev's instead of his 4. I tried manually entering it in instead of using slider but won't go...

THanks for you help.

synergy11
03-03-2007, 08:25 PM
Could you post how you got that shape starting from that profile?


Any help would be great.

Thanks

Tekano
03-03-2007, 10:26 PM
Hello there,

Yes in the Create > polygon mesh > Revolution around Axis property page you change Subdivision Type from Per Span to Absolute. then you can set exact numbers in U and V

the rest is pretty straight forward, if your still stuck I can replicate it into a series of images but you should be fine. just remember if you need to close the open boundary edges, change to selection mode>boundary edges. duplicate Ctrl>D then right click and choose Weld boundary edges. this will 'cap' the hole that the revolution around axis makes if you only want to do the 2 subdivisions (to get the last result) rather than the 4 (to get the first)

Additionaly you will need to merge the 1/4 section so once its best to select the facing polygon(s) and delete them - the two connecting boundary edges will then weld automatically.

hope that helps.

synergy11
03-04-2007, 04:41 PM
Thanks for you response.

When I select Absolute the U and V span becomes greyed out and the U and V abs becomes available. When I type 4 this is the result.

Any help is appreciated.

Tekano
03-04-2007, 06:42 PM
Well Synergy, I don't know what to say, your start curve needs more resolution just leave the 4 on the U and put a higher number in the V...?

run this script (copy & paste in script window and hit run)

>>>>

CreatePrim "Arc", "NurbsCurve"

ApplyGenOp "RevolutionAroundAxis", "MeshSurface", "arc", 3, siPersistentOperation, siKeepGenOpInputs

SetValue "polymsh.polymsh.revolution.subdivtype", 1

SetValue "polymsh.polymsh.revolution.subdivu", 4

SetValue "polymsh.polymsh.revolution.subdivv", 24

<<<<<

you should have something like the following image

http://img339.imageshack.us/img339/8162/groinstatue2cm4.jpg (http://imageshack.us/)

what version of XSI are you running there? dont look like mine

synergy11
03-04-2007, 07:28 PM
It 's actually the FREE MOD TOOL : )

Version 4.2 i think?

Ill try out that script though. Thanks again

Sbowling
03-04-2007, 08:41 PM
Something like this is about as basic as it gets in XSI. It shouldn't take you more than an couple minutes for a basic shape. http://www.ultrahypermeganet.com/groinvault.html

Hope this helps.

EDIT: after reading your further replies, it seems you have a severe lack of understanding on how even the basic things work in XSI. I would recomend going through the included tutorials to learn the basics.

Edit2: A more complete example: http://www.ultrahypermeganet.com/groinvault.html See the modeling thread linked above for more details.

CGTalk Moderation
03-04-2007, 08:41 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.