PDA

View Full Version : Help for a Newb?

Rando
03-02-2003, 01:42 AM
Hey guys,
I told you I would post again as I made some progress and here it is. I'm an amateur but trying to make an intro to a friend's art portfolio. The idea is the have the introductory graphic "create itself." I might build in some buttons later to prompt the viewer to create it, but will work on that later.

What I have done so far is:
- Took an image and broken it into its different layers: Pencil sketch, colored drawing, background, and falling snow
- All images have been placed on different layers and bitmap traced
- I placed one image on top of another and then gradually erased the top one to reveal the one below

I think it looks pretty good though there are some things that I am not happy with. It definetely needs a preloader however as it is 1MB+ and doesn't look smooth until you replay it. Please take a look:
http://rando.d2net.com/fury/test.htm

My criticisms and help I am asking for:
- I'll take care of that line at the bottom! :hmm:
- Ideas on how to make the falling snow loop better (without that jagged cut)
- Ideas on how to insert a simple pre-loader
- Please ignore the "newspapers" with text that blow in as I plan to replace them
- Ideas on how to reduce this large file size
- Anything else that you would like to comment on

Appreciate the look & any input! :thumbsup:

(* Please note that I take no artistic credit for the work that I am animating! :shame: )

mage111
03-02-2003, 05:09 AM
this made me crack
I'm an amateur but trying to make an intro to a friend's art portfolio.

shouldnt 'he' be making his own work?

you might aswell put your credits on the intro page if he gets a job from some dude needing flash i dont think he'll beable to doit, do you? hehehe

anyways, reguarding your questions