PDA

View Full Version : Particle system

H3ro
02-28-2007, 05:11 PM
Hallo,

I while ago I started a post about doing fluid simulation. I have now started my quest. As I have limited programming experience I decided to start with something more simple, a 2d particle system. That way I can see how drawing is done and how to handle a massive amount of particles. Also, is it ok to post this kind of things here? I see that most of the questions are very advanced and not much code is posted at all, if the forum is not meant for this kind of thing I am doing, please delete this thread.

Anyway, I have gotten the basic to work, but there are some buggs that I need some help with removing:

* The particles are forming a square. This makes no sense to me, as the velocity should make them move a equal distance away from where they are created. Should not the form formed be a circle? To make it a bit more clear I have made a small picture:
If you look at this picture you see that the particles are only living inside the red square, but should it not be inside the blue circle?
http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/1761/picturewl0.jpg

* How do I make a rate controle, like there is in e.g Autodesk Mayas particle system? Right now all of my particles are created at ones (made it look a bit more interesting with a random lifespan)

* If something else is all wrong let me know

Here is my code:
Note: void particleUpdate(); is the only interesting thing, the rest is super basic openGL and other basic stuff, but I am posting the whole thing anyway.
Compiled on windows XP SP 2, with DEV-C++

#ifdef WIN32
#include <windows.h>
#endif
#include <GL/gl.h>
#include <GL/glut.h>
#include <fstream>
#include <math.h>
#include <stdlib.h>

#define MAX_PARTICLES 1000

//------Global variables
static GLfloat EmitterPosX = 0;
static GLfloat EmitterPosY = 0;
//------Global variables /end

//------Functions
void display(void);
void particleInit(int i);
void particleUpdate();