PDA

View Full Version : Does Mudbox have a function similar to Zmapper (plugin for ZBrush)?


joelrodrigues
02-26-2007, 02:09 PM
Hi folks,

IŽd like export my normal maps from MudBox and IŽd like to know if Mudbox has a function similar to Zmapper (the plugin for ZBrush).

Thanks very much!

Best regards!

mech7
02-26-2007, 02:35 PM
it can export normal maps / displacement maps.. only no cavity maps i believe as zmapper has them.

joelrodrigues
02-27-2007, 01:06 AM
Hi mech7,

Thx. very much for your reply. I didnŽt know about that.
Cheers!

requiem2d
02-27-2007, 08:12 AM
Simple to use feature too :)

joelrodrigues
02-28-2007, 10:54 AM
Can i also export CAVITY maps from MudBox? (following mech7, it seems no)... Anyone?

Airflow
03-06-2007, 10:02 AM
Take your normal map from mudbox into photoshop, go to Channels, copy the blue channel, paste it into a new map, adjust the contrast to your liking, save as cavity map...

abuminalis
03-07-2007, 02:06 AM
Take your normal map from mudbox into photoshop, go to Channels, copy the blue channel, paste it into a new map, adjust the contrast to your liking, save as cavity map...

It doesn't work very well, unless you can show us an example?

eldee
03-07-2007, 02:28 AM
I posted a mini-tut up on the skymatter forums.. lemme find it

eldee
03-07-2007, 02:32 AM
It's not perfect, but it works in a pinch. Here you go, should be self explanatory:


http://img02.picoodle.com/img/img02/7/3/6/f_cavitytutm_b90fee0.jpg

abuminalis
03-09-2007, 05:26 PM
I already saw this example at mudbox foruns, but i would like to see things like pores etc. I've tried and it didn't work, cheers.

abuminalis
03-09-2007, 05:27 PM
Double post.

JacquesD
03-09-2007, 07:10 PM
I already saw this example at mudbox foruns, but i would like to see things like pores etc. I've tried and it didn't work, cheers.

There're maybe 2 things you could do for this.

-If you have Zbrush, you can always import your lowres mesh, subdivide it, apply the map you extracted from Mudbox and run ZMapper.


-Or, you could separate your layers in Mubox so that you keep this kind of details in 1 separated layer, extract a displacement using that 'Pores' layer and the previous layer (The closest and highest subdivision layer)... Finally, extract a 32Bits map of that combination. You should then get the 'Pores' displacement information (only) and be able to use it as a mask or whatever texture work you need to do.

Jacques.

abuminalis
03-11-2007, 11:49 PM
Thanks Jacques.

CGTalk Moderation
03-11-2007, 11:49 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.