PDA

View Full Version : New guy with a lot on his mind...

jdcutter
02-24-2007, 05:03 AM
Hello everyone,

*Note: For those who look at this and think its to long to read, scroll to the * halfway down to see the end questions I'm asking. Please visit the links along the way though.*

I'm a newbie on the forum and have been looking for a little while now out of curiousity for my degree (Graphic Design) and my overall fasination with illustration, art, digital design and so many other things considered computer graphics or graphics communication. After having read a few forums through at least a few pages back in posts a piece I have some questions for those who post here. Because without question you are a talented community with a great deal of knowledge.

I've been in the program for a little over a year now and have had a job for 5 or so months allowing me to use a great deal of Photoshop, Illustrator, and many other adobe programs. As well as other programs not related to this post.

Well I've been a big fan of Adobe Illustrator, I love the feel of the pen tool, and how easily it seems to work with me. I've enjoyed doing vector art and am working harder at learning more of the program; especially the mesh tool. I think it is a very powerful tool and worth learning, and from my reading on this site others feel the same way. Although when it comes to photoshop, I'm a bit more... lacking with the program. I understand its grunt basics fairly well, how to select and morph pieces, levels adjustments, color modes, the layers, and most of the tools on the toolbar. But, there is a great deal more I'm wanting to learn with the program. Now, onto the main topic (Yes I realize I'm long winded).

Recently over the past 4 or so years I've been admiring the painting ability of Photoshop. Some of my favorites come from people such as,

www.hawkstudios.net (http://www.hawkstudios.net)
Natascha Roeoesli (http://tascha.ch/)