PDA

View Full Version : Question about rendering in XSI Advanced


mlmiller1983
02-23-2007, 09:55 PM
Reading on the Softimag|XSI website it states that XSI Advanced includes 4-CPU of mental ray rendering to render directly from XSI, or include in a render farm. Is this four physical cpus or are they counting cores? Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!!!

JDex
02-23-2007, 10:09 PM
Physical CPUs... cores are utilized effectively.

mlmiller1983
02-23-2007, 10:48 PM
Physical CPUs... cores are utilized effectively.

So could I effectively render across 4 quad-core cpu PCs networked together without having to use the much dreaded Satellite rendering . Thanks for the quick reply, much appreciated!

JDex
02-24-2007, 12:19 AM
No... each license is for a dual processor computer. You get a license of XSI Advanced which can use up to two CPUs (with one or more cores) in one system and a license of XSI batch which also allows two CPUs in one system.

CGTalk Moderation
02-24-2007, 12:19 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.