PDA

View Full Version : How do you guys set up ik controls? To control IK handle directly or group the IK ?


StefanStavrev
02-21-2007, 11:12 PM
How do you guys set up ik controls? To control IK handle directly or group the IK ?

What lot of people do is not control the IK handle directly,but first group it with itself connect the controler object to control that group.

So i am curious what kinds of problems can arise by not doing this?

I am not doing this and i have not come into some problems with it ...

redcarrot
02-24-2007, 01:07 AM
By not controlling the ikhandle directly is just like not to control the bones directly, it gives the flexibility for overall animation controls. I do'nt group the ikhandle, I create a controller and pointContraint the ikhandle. I would lock the ikhandle translation after that because there was a bug in maya 7, which screwed up the ik blend.

StefanStavrev
02-24-2007, 09:15 AM
Yeah, that is how i was setting ik handles too.

But people do this.First they group the ik handle to itself and then constrain that group to the animation control.

Don't you guys think that this is not needed?

CGTalk Moderation
02-24-2007, 09:15 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.