PDA

View Full Version : problems with boolean


frank07
02-21-2007, 08:03 PM
hi,
I'm new into animation, Im getting to learn the basics and I'm working with 3dmax.
I'm in the middle of modeling a Lego airplane, one of the pieces is a cylinde-like with a rectangular cut in the center of it. I created the cylinder, then the box. I used the boolean option to make the cut and after I do that the cut is not square or rectangular, is all fonky, all the vertices from the cylinder are all over. I'm adding more vertices to the cylinder and still the cut is not perfect. I need some suggestions please.
thanks

newellteapot
02-22-2007, 11:12 PM
I beg you: don't use booleans

use poly modleing, it will change your life dramatically for the better

kirigoi
02-23-2007, 01:06 PM
I'm with Monica in this case. Booleans aren't a quick fix as they almost always need heavy tweaking to clean up the geometry afterwards. I've got a bit of experience with doing Lego (see e.g. here (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=387221)), so I might be able to help if you give a bit more information about the piece you're trying to model. I've also discussed problems with cutting square holes in cylinders/spheres here (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?p=4108006#post4108006) and here (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?p=4084089#post4084089) when using Subdivision Surfaces, which might be of use. Feel free to ask if you've got any questions. M

CGTalk Moderation
02-23-2007, 01:06 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.