PDA

View Full Version : Question about structure guideline things.

almostkungfu
02-18-2007, 03:28 PM
I've been drawing using structure guide things for a long time now. Like, to draw a head, I do a ball-and-cone, and then a cross on it, and bla bla, and then I draw the real head on top of that. You get what I mean?

Well, I've expanded my area of learning now, to the whole body, not only the head. But when drawing the body, I haven't really fixed any guide system like that.

I really thought everyone used guides and such for drawing heads, but I found out lately I was wrong. ^_^

What I'm wondering is:
Should I work to free myself from the guide system? Does it restrain me, or help me? Should I create a system of the same kind for the body, to learn quicker? Or wouldn't it help? Do "masters" use guides like this? Do you use it? What's your experience on the subject?

Mu
02-19-2007, 10:47 AM
well, being a total noob on the matter you should take what I say with a grain (or some good spoonfuls :D ) of salt, but...

I was actually really fond of the Loomis framework for full figure sketches from imagination. It establishes a simplified bone structure which you sort of upholster with muscles and skin.

But when I read Ryder's book he says that people who try to make use of frameworks like this one (another one being the Loomis ball-and-plane framework for the head construction) build up an abstraction and then feel confused if the result does not look like the real thing.

Based upon that confusion they postulate the existence of a mysterious talent to create believable forms and, seeing that their drawings fail to do so, come to the conclusion that they don't have it.

That really struck me, because that was a bit the way I was thinking before I read his book.

So, his approach is to do away with frameworks and just learn to perceive the real thing for what it is.

You need a life model for this of course. And a lot of time.