PDA

View Full Version : How do you choose your colors?

jumbowumbo2
02-18-2007, 12:59 AM
Developing a consistent color pallette seems to be the most challenging obstacle at the moment. I'm relatively new to the digital side of art, and I'm feeling overwhlemed by the massive amounts of hues and tones there seem to be.

Aside from using a photo ref (assuming there is an alternative method), how do you choose your colors?

Crazzy Legs
02-18-2007, 01:41 AM
this sounds restricting, but its true. Form followers function. Think about the mood or appeal you want. Transfer that into color, you'll need to have a grip on what colors do for the brain, this link (http://www.pantone.com/pages/Pantone/Pantone.aspx?pg=19356&ca=29) might be helpful, or you can check out this book (http://www.amazon.com/Pantone-Guide-Communicating-Leatrice-Eiseman/dp/0966638328/sr=8-1/qid=1171766029/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1/102-5592144-9575366?ie=UTF8&s=books). I own the book....boy is great. They just released a follow up to it. (http://www.amazon.com/Color-Messages-Meanings-Pantone-Resource/dp/0971401063/sr=1-2/qid=1171766238/ref=sr_1_2/102-5592144-9575366?ie=UTF8&s=books)You might only want to buy the follow-up, I haven't had that much of a look at it.

Once you get a main idea then you can play with it and start changing colors around, remember, color theory is just that, theory. Sometimes you find colors that go together quiet well even though they shouldn't based on what you know about them.

I hope this helps.

Go buy a little cardboard colorwheel from an art supply store. You can find some that have complementary and split complement colors and secondary and tertiary colors on them. Handy little things.

jumbowumbo2
02-19-2007, 06:26 AM
That books looks extremely helpful, I'll have to check it out.

I do have a fair understanding of the basic color theory (i.e. primary colors, analogous colors, warm and cool colors etc), but I was wondering specifically how you manage your colors.