PDA

View Full Version : WIP - The Transit of Tomorrow

jbfmoore
02-15-2007, 07:47 AM
So, I would probably consider this to be my first matte painting. I'm currently an art student studying for a B.F.A in VFX. Anyway, When finished this will be a 2.5D matte painting. The camera move will be a slight tracking move. I'm planning on adding a live action element or two. Whether it is a person walking down the tracks or birds in the sky I'm not sure.

Obviously there are still some issues with the painting, but please feel free to point out anything you feel that sticks out as a mistake or errors or anything. It is quite possible that I may have missed something as well.

http://studentpages.scad.edu/%7Ejmoore26/train-test5.jpg

I still have some color corrections to do, as well as some things to fix as far as the compositing of the elements go, etc.

Ive got to do something with the right side of the piece where the wall and the closest building is. Just doesnt sit right with me.

Critiques, Comments, Suggestions?

byvfx
02-18-2007, 07:16 AM
becareful with you darks here.. it doesnt help the depth of this image much.

the composition is so so.. one point persp. kinda boring. the pay of the bright light at the end there isnt much.

and becareful with tangents.. they are all over the place in this. i would give those a one over and fix them.

JJASSO
02-18-2007, 05:58 PM
I completly agree with metinicus , the black levels at the distance need to go way down, aereal perspective is necesary to get a nice depth feeling, also I think most of the edges are too perfect, too cg try to break them a little bit or blur them

jbfmoore
02-21-2007, 03:33 AM
Thanks for the suggestions on the blacks of the image. Your definately right about that. Something I didnt even notice. I suppose I've been working on this so long that I've missed many things that I didnt even realize were issues.