PDA

View Full Version : Select all hard edges in an object?


Obizzz
02-13-2007, 01:47 PM
Is there an easy way to select all hard edges within a mesh? I need to separate them for export and it's a bit tedious to do manually.

I have a feeling it would be quite easy to do with a script but my knowledge in scripting is rather limited. I did find this in the sdk docs

bool GetIsHard ( ) const

Returns whether the edge is hard or not.

Returns:
True if the edge is hard, false if not.

I guess one could set up a loop based on that which selects the edge if the value returned is true.. unfortunately I haven't done any coding for years and I was pretty bad even when I did :) (just basic stuff in school)

Any help appreciated..

oglu
02-13-2007, 01:58 PM
hard edges are stored in cluster...
delete the cluster...

JDex
02-13-2007, 02:04 PM
Use the Crease Edge filter and then Ctrl+A to select them all.

Obizzz
02-13-2007, 03:19 PM
oglu: that would only delete them I needed to have them selected to perform operations on them

JDex: Thanks a lot! Exactly what I needed, handy little menu too I've somehow missed that :D

CGTalk Moderation
02-13-2007, 03:19 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.