PDA

View Full Version : Can you drive the FN scale in DF 4 with a scalar (grayscale) input?


mocaw
02-12-2007, 04:51 AM
Does anyone know of a technique or plugin that will let you drive certain values via a grayscale image? I have some smoke stacks and have created "good enough" smoke using grayscale images for the alpha, but this only works from the sides.

I'm trying to do an overhead view and wish for the FN smoke to slowly increase in scale as it approaches the "camera". Any tips besides animating it in layered nodes by hand? I'd really like to drive these values via the grayscale image.

If not I'll just do it in XSI or something similar...

Thanks.

PieterVH
02-12-2007, 10:05 AM
Install the Krokodove plugins from www.komkomdoorn.com. They contain a (free) modifier called "probe" that allow you to drive any value based on colour/luma information from other nodes...

Hope that helps.

mocaw
02-12-2007, 06:05 PM
VERY AWESOME! Thanks!

CGTalk Moderation
02-12-2007, 06:05 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.