PDA

View Full Version : help a max sdk noob, please

shibumenon
02-05-2007, 10:28 PM
Hi all,
I am an absolute noob to c++ and the sdk world. I have written a lot of maxscripts,
though. I am on Max9, and I have installed VS express edition and the platform SDK.
My limited knowledge tells me that express ed is not suited for writing plugins for Max,
because it doesn't support any UI stuff .... am I right?

Assuming that is true, then will I still be able of create .dlx files, since you don't need
any UI here. And this is what i am actually more intersted in. I'll be quite satisfied if
I could write a c++ code that would expose a new function in maxscript, .... maybe a
function that adds a couple of integers will do me good for a start, just need to
figure out how the hell do I bring it into Max.

I went on a mission to compile my first .dlx plugin ... IntervalArray from the howto
examples, but got stuck immediately, and am not able to figure out what's going wrong.

These are the errors that I get:sad:, and ther are 16 of them :eek: :

\maxsdk\include\winutil.h(161) : error C2061: syntax error : identifier 'HIMAGELIST' and
\maxsdk\include\custcont.h(448) : error C2061: syntax error : identifier 'HIMAGELIST'

Could any of the gurus out there please, please enlighten me how I could get rid of them.
suggestions for a noob other than this particular topic are also very welcome .

Thanks for reading
shibu

shibumenon
02-05-2007, 11:23 PM
when I click go to location on the error, this is what comes up :

CoreExport LoadMAXIconErrors LoadMAXIcon(HINSTANCE hInstance, LPCTSTR resID, LPCTSTR resMaskID, COLORREF bkColor, HIMAGELIST imageList, int imageIndex, int preMultAlpha=TRUE);

CoreExport int LoadMAXIconFromBMI(LPBITMAPINFOHEADER biImage, LPBITMAPINFOHEADER biMask, COLORREF bkColor, TCHAR* pFilePrefix, int preMultAlpha=TRUE, HIMAGELIST* pImageList=NULL);
CoreExport BITMAPINFOHEADER *LoadBitmapFromFile(TCHAR *filename);