PDA

View Full Version : Lightwave to Animation Master

Primus
02-24-2003, 09:19 AM
Basically I have three questions that needs answering from all you Animation Master experts, if not my startup will be using Messiah:Studio. But the cost will kill my budget. I've been working in CG for four years and I'm putting up a startup studio of five people. I've been working in Lightwave, Maya, Max. I've been a TD, but started out as an animator, then a modeller. Now I'm parting ways with my employer and will have to purchase software. Anyone up to answering 3 questions?

First question is: I need to turnaround 45 minutes of animation every two months, this is the max figure, but the norm will be 20. It will be toon shaded, characters will be cartoony with a lot of lip synch. Does Animation Master have what it takes? I'm thinking of purchasing in two weeks, and have started setting up hardware.

Next question would be, "What kind of hardware does it take?". With Lightwave even a machine with 256 MB RAM and a GeForce 2 MX can churn out good work, on Pentium III 850s!!!! In real life what would it take to run Animation Master with the kind of production level, 20 minutes every two months? I'm having 4 to 5 people BTW for that kind of work.

Last question is... a biggie in my book. Will the software cooperate with us? Having crashes every hour is really not appealing (It's giving me nightmares actually). After surviving Max 3, Lightwave was incredibly stable. I cringe when I read up on the forums at how unstable this program (A/M) is. I want to be pleasantly shocked, I have projects lined up and I have to deliver. Or bye bye projects. I'd like to not sell my car to buy three or five seats of Lightwave.

Learning curve is no problem, after a while, these programs tend to become similar to each other. If anyone can give authoritative answers, I am in your debt. Thank you!

hoochoochoochoo
02-24-2003, 12:35 PM