PDA

View Full Version : explosions in space

pomme
02-24-2003, 03:37 AM
there's a scene we'll be creating in maya with small spaceships attacking a bigger spaceship, which app is the best for creating bright explosions in space (zero gravity)? we're going to be using pc. I'm looking for extreme realism in the effect.

Thanks for any advice, we're new to this, but we see ourselves using effects like this often in the future.

pomme

wgriffiths2000
02-24-2003, 05:13 AM
okay well if you are going for extream realism there realy is no explosion in space unless it lets off light that is not created with flame also there would not be any smoke. If i wanted to do a real explosion in space it would just be flashes of light and debrie. I would probly do the effect in maya to just for the control you get then i would resize comp in combustion. though i am just a student so i realy dont know much.

eudemonie
02-24-2003, 02:53 PM
--

yes, interesting thing here. from the point of realism wgriffiths2000 is right, there is no fire & smoke in space.

but in CGI realism is often what people accept to happen.

lots of these little explosions and laser effects could be done
with combustion 2 and particles. Mixed with some real explosion
stock could look very - ... "realistic".

--
eu

DanMan
02-24-2003, 11:03 PM
yah when doing space fights you are best off chuking the laws a physics. And eudemonie is right its always good to use real life explostions and comp them into your sence with some particles though it all depends what you have acces to.

pomme
02-25-2003, 02:20 AM
where could I find stock footage of explosions? with alpha if possible.

eudemonie
02-25-2003, 10:58 AM
-

there are no free stock footage available in this resolution
( Pal / NTSC or even higher) as I know.

you can order clips from dosch, marlin, etc.

--
eu

dg
02-25-2003, 11:36 AM
You can use Maya particle and dynamics system with mental ray or some other renderer, you can achieve some very good results.