PDA

View Full Version : Skills and Knowledge To Be a Good Modeller?

mysrh
01-31-2007, 06:02 PM
I only started learning Maya 2 years ago, however it seems I put a lot interest in modelling.
What's been bothering is the fact that when most students are being asked where their strong area is most say modelling, for any reasons that I'm not sure what.

Well, I might be one of those students, but the thought that what happens if I am one of those students worries me.

Hence I'm here to ask you modelling expert, what do I need to know, to learn, and to improve if I'm serious about modelling? I'm currently in the low-poly modelling class and I learn tremendous skills which I never know from the 2 years I have been in school.

And finally, I thank you for the kind response, advice and suggestions and yout time too ^^;;

regards,
mysrh

tryl
02-01-2007, 09:34 PM
Well its natural that most feel their strong point is modeling, its the first thing you do, therefore you have the most practice in :)

I'm not a master of the 3d art form yet, but I have been doing art for a while and what i've found is..
the thing that will set you apart from the general mass of everyone will be your 1.ability to take something that is normally hard for most people i.e. human body and make it look flawless 2. your attention to detail, and finally the idea that your Art is NEVER ever complete, and that you can always improve it

The day that you see an image you've created, and you think that there's nothing wrong with it is not the day you become a master, but the day that you've failed to grow as an artist.