PDA

View Full Version : Making character hold things?

3DZukini
02-24-2003, 01:04 AM
Hi, I'm just getting into my whole animating characters thing so this may be a simple question: I bought ACS4 and so far I think it's great(especially compared to my previous attempts at rigging) but I'm trying to figure out how I make a character hold something in their hands while they move--a golf club. Is this as simple as parenting the club to one of the bones? I havn't tried it yet because I havn't modeled the club yet--I got my ACS4 and I was excited to start the scene,,blah blah...anyway, if there's anyone out there who could shoot me a quick answer that would be great, thanks!:)

faulknermano
02-24-2003, 01:12 AM
if your arm is controlled by FK you could probably use IK on the golf club using nulls parented to the hands as goals: parent one and of the golf club to a hand, and goal the end of the handle to the other hand.

or you can simply parent the club to the hands themselves. but if the guy is holding it two-handed, you must match golf club in both hands, manually.. that is if you want to use FK instead of IK.

3DZukini
02-24-2003, 01:19 AM
OK, I'm not positive I understand all of that but maybe it'll make more sense to me once I try it out, thanks!!

kretin
02-24-2003, 01:31 AM
There are various ways you can accomplish this, it depends on the specific need you have.

If you want to hold something in just one hand you just parent the item to the hand bone.

If you want to hold something in 2 hands, or to hold it in one hand but sometime have 2 hands on it, like a golf club, then you need to get more complex.

One way, using IK for the arms/hands, is to parent 2 nulls to the golf club, where you want each hand to hold it. Then use simple constraints (which you can attach to sliders, or just control the envelopes) to move each hand null to the golf club nulls when you need them there.