PDA

View Full Version : APPLY a normal in Maya?

CodeNothing
01-18-2007, 12:11 AM
ok, About a year ago I attempted to figure it out with no real results, I gave up on it, now im back for more...

Im an illustrator by trade, a noob in 3D, But i have a perfectly good copy of Maya 8.0 and i do enjoy playing with 3D. So heres the deal, I use crazybump to make a normal map, no problem. I make a simple cube, no problem...

How do I APPLY the normal to the cube??

I realy need step-by-step instructions a slightly retarded person could follow.

I have browsed litteraly DOZZENS of normal map tutorials, where they go through mindless detail on how to make cages and lighting, and baking, and creating a normal map from a high res model, but then they always reach a step where they say:

STEP#134 - Apply the normal map. your Done!!1 ^_^

I do not see any obvious way to apply a normal to a material, which is odd because everyone seems to use them. And the last time i went searching for info on this i got a lot of responses like:

Simply go to your materials editor and apply new nodes to your hypershade shifter knobble then run EXECUTE/do?/my_Normal/Map.exe Then make it a new file directory in the attrobutes editor and mess with the controlls a little. Jiggle the handle, and your done!@

...Unless your using Maya 8. Then skip steps 3 and 5 and inbetween steps 2 and 4 insert a normals attribute node McBobber into your Graphics card Hamburger and then at the end set your monitor on fire as a sacrafice to the normal-map gods.

I realy dont understand most of what people are talking about in Maya. I know what planes, nodes, edges, and textures are. And thats about it. So if i need to download something as an add-on, fine, if 8.0 can do it stand-alone, great. But i realy just need someone to walk me through it once. In vivid detail.

Thanks to anyone who can help me out here!

TychoCelchuuu
01-18-2007, 12:58 AM