PDA

View Full Version : Flour Sack Jump exercise..would love crits.

Kramerica
01-17-2007, 01:10 AM
http://www.pages.drexel.edu/%7Esk333/floursack_still.jpg

Let's try the WIP section... Here's a simple jump exercise to test out my new flour sack rig. Would love some animation critiques. Thanks!

Quicktime - 720x405 ~2.7mb (http://www.pages.drexel.edu/%7Esk333/floursack_JumpWeb.mov)

Thanks all.

Amit_S
01-17-2007, 02:55 PM
No critiques. i'm a noob.

But its nice:applause:

gunslingerblack
01-18-2007, 06:47 PM
just taking a brief look at it, i dont think your extremes are working well enough to sell the performance, your anticipation timing needs to be adjusted to better control the flow of the animation. but essentially, instead of a flour sack jumping it almost looks like the sack is being thrown, with no personality

Kramerica
01-18-2007, 08:58 PM
Finally, some brutal honesty...:buttrock: By timing on the anticipation, are you referring to his exaggeratedly long pull back? I'm thinking maybe that should push more into the jump as well... or is not not down in his squash position for long enough?

Also, I did want to leave it relatively story and context free. I am using it to teach the basics of anticipation, follow-through, squash/stretch, and arcs. Think it would be wiser to inject some acting anyway? I'd rather not complicate things too much I think.

I'd love specific crit if you can as I am still very much an animation "learner" as well as "teacher." Or is it more along the lines of... no hope... start over.

gunslingerblack
01-18-2007, 09:08 PM
lol do as i say not as i do,