PDA

View Full Version : Talc/dust clouds effects

AsaMovshovitz
01-15-2007, 03:19 PM
Hi,

I am new to Pflow and I need help to recreate this sort of particle effect
http://creative.gettyimages.com/source/Film/filmresultsmain.aspx?detailView=1&pk=11&bk0=0&masterID=465-29&filmFromFilm=True&bc=TIB

It doesn't need to be in slow motion, but it does need to have the some feel to it,
big clouds of dust at the start and then going up and swirl around itself.

I looked at all the smoke tutorials I could find on the web but cannot even get close to what this looks like. did any one here ever tried doing this sort of talc effect or even movement with particle flow?

and ideas/links or even kind words would be most welcomed,

Cheers,

Asa

scrimski
01-15-2007, 04:31 PM
I would use a very little gravity and a few wind sources with turbulences, different events with different particle speeds, linked via agetests with a large variation.

Show us your current result and your flow, would be much easier to point you in the right direction.

AsaMovshovitz
01-15-2007, 05:33 PM
I would use a very little gravity and a few wind sources with turbulences, different events with different particle speeds, linked via agetests with a large variation.

Show us your current result and your flow, would be much easier to point you in the right direction.

Thanks for the replay scrimski,
here is a QT of what i have now, it is 5 diffrent types of pflow test all layerd up in after effects,

Asa

lucavfx
01-16-2007, 04:37 PM
Thanks for the replay scrimski,
here is a QT of what i have now, it is 5 diffrent types of pflow test all layerd up in after effects,

Asa

Hi Asa,

What you have now is not bad as a starting point.
Here are just some suggestions:
-just remember to tweak only one value at the time, very little at the time as particle tweaking takes a lot of time and it's very easy to loose the plot of what you're doing.