PDA

View Full Version : Film set notes for XSI

kuronekogrrl
01-10-2007, 07:55 AM
Hi all!
I'll be going on set for the first time next week to watch acouple of scenes being shot for a new TV series I'll be doing several fully 3D characters for. What notes do you need to take down on set to help you when you start to texture, light and render your character? I've been reading some books which suggest taking notes on what 'lens' they shoot with, the lighting used (maybe even use a light probe to get HDRI's), what type of film stock they use...I'm so confused! How will this help me when I'm working on my character in XSI?
Is it meant to help with compositing? I'm a total noob, I'm not from a film background so most of this stuff is new to me. So, if you have any suggestions for things I should take note of on set and how to use them in XSI I would love to hear it!

Saturn
01-10-2007, 09:26 AM
- Lens focale on every shot
- Filmback or film support ( 35mm, 16mm, video ?, DV ? )
- Put some marker for trackiing prupose.
- Take mesurement
- Take pictures of the set.
- Take textures pictures without any flash. Try to have no shadow.
- Mark the placement of the light.
- Get the Light Temperature.
- FSTOP on every shoot ( for DOF )
- Shoot Grid with every Lens ( to get lens distortion )

Prepare your sheet before the set.
Recharge all your battery :)

And good luck

mr Bob
01-10-2007, 08:01 PM
If your from a vendor , my first port of call would be the VFX supervisor for the show.......

B

kuronekogrrl
01-11-2007, 12:37 AM
Thanks for the detailed post Saturn! A few questions:
- Could you send me a pdf example of the "sheet" you were talking about? Pretty please! :thumbsup:
- What is "Lens focale"? Also, I'm thinking that I won't be on set for every single shot so is there a way to find out this lens focale is after everything has been shot? Is the lens focale recorded on some sheet somewhere by the cameraman?
- Is "film back" the film stock used?