PDA

View Full Version : Volume Preservation with Biped Guide

maddav99
01-09-2007, 10:10 PM
I'm new to XSI coming from Maya and I don't quite understand the volume controls that come with the biped rig. It looks as if the nulls that are made are part of the enveloping group and therefore will control the mesh, but how do I use the volume spheres that are created? One of the other things that happens is that the null that is created at the back of the thigh that I assume is meant to control the skinning at the butt jumps up to the front of the thigh when I move the foot control up too high. I try to read through the docs, but it didn't give me a whole lot. XSI looks to be the animation godsend from what I've been able to do with it thus far, and all these attributes look as if they will take my skinning to another level if I can only figure them out. Any help or direction will be much appreciated!

pooby
01-09-2007, 10:49 PM
The Volume spheres are implicit objects and the nulls use these objects as Constraints. ie the nulls cannot enter the sphere.
If you select a null and click on the constraint property (in kinematics) you will see 'bounding volume contstraint' applied
The purpose is to aid deformation in areas such as the back of the leg around the knee to stop intersecting to some degree and add the effect of the calf muscle squashing the thigh.

just out of interest, these constraints can be reversed. you can have a null stay inside a bounding volume.

maddav99
01-10-2007, 12:45 AM