PDA

View Full Version : do qualifications matter?

spr0g
02-19-2003, 12:50 PM
I know this has been raised before... somewhere.

I was wondering if qualifications actually matter in the art industry. (2d or 3d)
I am a student about to take a year out to do a bit of work somewhere doing something, and wondered if its worth going to uni, or building up a portfolio and getting out there working

uni is becoming more and more expensive, which is kinda putting me off, but would like to continue learning about the things I want. but then... whats to stop me doing on my own?

gimme ur opinions, and if you have any in mind, could u tell me if there are any uni's in the UK that do 3d courses?

cheers,
spr0g

Pengy
02-19-2003, 01:43 PM
Hi Spr0g

I know Brighton (poly?) do, or did and i think Sheffield Uni do a 3d course but i think you have to do a 2 year maths session first then onto the 3d. It may only be CAD type stuff though..? Can`t remember. Duh.!
Hope some of this helps.

Take it easy
Andy.

vrljc
02-19-2003, 02:07 PM
Go to a school that has lots and lots of drawing classes! If you cannot draw, good luck in the industry, but if you CAN draw, have fun in the industry. Drawing is probably the #1 thing you need to do to start in the 2D or 3D animation. It helps with getting your models in correct proportions.

Basically it all boils down to your demo reel and your hard portfolio of drawings when applying for a job.

Good luck! -vrljc

Shade01
02-19-2003, 02:14 PM
Qualifications only matter when they don't want to hire you. "You don't have enough experience" is the most overused cop out canned phrase from businesses, until your reel is so good that they don't care if you have experience or not.

spr0g
02-19-2003, 02:54 PM
cheers for the replies guys... I will try to develop my drawing skills for a start... and get to work on a big enough portfolio with decent work in.

Nikos
02-19-2003, 03:12 PM
I wouldn't say drawing is absolutely dead essential.