PDA

View Full Version : XSI hotkeys_Replicating Maya

TheShaddix
01-08-2007, 04:28 PM
I've been using XSI for a few years now, but now I also use Maya (at work only). As some of you know, it's very hard when some of your hotkeys are not the same. I've changed things a lot of things in maya (no more right clicking, just keys now, custom shelf, colors to match xsi 100%). The navigation had to be changed in xsi, however. But there are a few things i can't change in xsi and i was thinking that you could help. These things had never even bothered me until now. Some things are kind of better in Maya (the ones mentioned below), but can be easily replicated in XSI. Thanks for your time.

1.) How can I change CTRL (default snap key) to V ? I couldn't find it in the hotkeys editor.
2.) When using a rectangular selection mode for faces, edges or points, when i only click select a face, it selects a face behind it. It should only do that when you are dragging the selection over the face, but not when you just "pick it". I know there is a pick tool, but no such thing in maya, so how can i at least make it select only the face that i pick while using the rectangular selection.
3.) To change the view in maya you press 4 5 6. In xsi it's on the right top of the viewport field. How can I change it in XSI so that I can assign shortcuts (such as 4 5 6) to it ?

4.) The points welding is very different in maya. You select all the points and weld them with distance. But in XSI you have to use the weld points tool to weld them one by one. The weld boundary points/edges doesn't really work at all. It only welds the boundary components. How can I weld things in xsi all at once with a set distance (tolerance) ?