PDA

View Full Version : Painter or Illustrator? Tips plz

WizGamer
01-08-2007, 02:12 AM
Hi, I am new to digital art and recently purchased Corel Painter IX because it's amazingly simple to use and is so versatile. However, I am interested in making my own comic but it seems that my images will come out pixelated using Painter. I tried using Illustrator but I just hate it. It has virtually no compatibility with my tablet and is the complete opposite of Painter when it comes to learning curve. I was just using it to try the vectors but are vector images needed in a comic book? If I am trying to draw an image should I simply draw farther out and make the images larger so the pixels aren't so distinguishable? Thanks.

Mu
01-08-2007, 11:19 PM
Hi,

a bit more info about your process and workflow would help the helpers.

which resolution do you normally work at?

work as large as comfortable (speedwise) and then scale down when either compositing your page or printing.

I think pro comic artists do the initial drawings with pencil/paper and then work in Painter or PS on the scanned images.

Check out the fantastic "how to draw a comic" tutorial by eliseu goveia (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=307340&page=1&pp=15) !

does that help?

Oh, and don't give up on Illustrator just yet, as it's the tool for comic book lettering!

RetroTorque
01-08-2007, 11:20 PM
When using raster programs you need to work at a high dpi for things to appear smooth when you print the image.

300 dpi is good for most color work.

600-1200 dpi is best for line art.

Improv
01-09-2007, 12:02 AM