PDA

View Full Version : global and local rotate keyframes

HJ-panorama
01-07-2007, 08:29 PM
hi

cause im really new to Motion builder so i have to ask a question that may seem ugly but i have to .. belive me... :sad:

i have a character in the MB and i want to keyframe some of the joints rotations... but when i keyframe one of the rotations ( for example Y axis) in global rotation mode, the key frames are generated for all 3 axis ( x, y, z) in other word, it's keyframe were made in local rotation axis that makes it hard to tweak ... i need keyframes for rotations be in global rotation mode not in local mode what can i do???

thankx

colkai
01-08-2007, 09:52 AM
You are mis-understanding the nature of global vs local.

They are simply two ways of looking at the same rotations, if you rotate on global, it follows the local rotation is affected because you are rotating the object.

Some packages, such as LW, have 3 ways of looking at a rotation, local, parent and global, all you are doing is changing your co-ordinate handling.

The easiest way to see this is if you create a cube, rotate it globally on one axis, switch to local and you will see the axis line up is the same.

Only once you rotate the object 'off-axis' does the difference between handling manipulations locally vs globally become apparent. It's just sometimes easier to rotate a joint say, by switching to local mode rather than trying to rotate it in global mode.

As I say though, the end result is the same.

HJ-panorama
01-09-2007, 07:12 AM
thanx

but you see, tha ankle for example has a non stright angle..
if you watch it in global mode the y axis is as always, perfectly perpendicular to the gird ... but in local mode ( in my case)
the x axis point towards the toe joint and relevantly the y axis makes angle to global y axis ...
meanwhile rotating Y axis in local mode isn't what i want .. i just want to rotate leg at the ankle point ... ( y in global )
and here the proplem arises...

colkai