PDA

View Full Version : OpenGL - 2 questions

Ian Jones
01-07-2007, 09:44 AM
Hey all, I'm a fairly inexperienced programmer... totally new to C++ and OpenGL but having had a few years of scripting experience in several languages. So here goes:

1) OpenGL video textures. I'm interested in the methods people use professionally. I'm aware of the NeHe tutorial where he loads an avi frame and uses glTexSubImage2D() to modify an existing texture rather than creating a new texture for every frame. Is this the best method? I can't help wondering if there is a faster or cleaner way, would Mac OsX use this for example in something like Quartz Composer for video textures? Basically, is this in your opinion the professional method?

2) OpenGL Picking. I'm aware of two methods, using the picking system built into OpenGL and the pixel colour comparison method. I'm unsure as to the drawbacks of each system, but lets say I want to develop a complex modern 2d GUI using OpenGL to render. Which would be best? Also, would a simple passing of the mouse coordinates and comparing object positions be even simpler (2d orthographic, so projections aren't neccesary).

If you have any information / links on either of these topics please post them here. ;)

gga
01-08-2007, 07:59 AM
glTexSubImage2D() to modify an existing texture rather than creating a new texture for every frame. Is this the best method?

Pretty much. On Windows you can also use the extremely painful to use DirectX/DirectShow framework for slightly faster conversion from avi's to textures and on Win32/Macs, if you use apple's quicktime, the quicktime api supports feeding a texture for opengl from within its api with its rather convoluted and afaik undocumented syntax.