PDA

View Full Version : MR Ambient Occlusion render to texture


zonk
01-06-2007, 12:23 PM
Hi everyone! I created a simple scene :http://img98.imageshack.us/img98/347/ao1ye6.jpg
and i unwrapped the plane. I switched from scanline to Mental ray and rendered perspective and it seems to work. But i would also want to render to texture ambient occlusion map ;/
And now the problem starts ;/ http://img100.imageshack.us/img100/528/gdzieokienkomd4.jpg
First of all there is no rendering window ;/ But ok... It saves on my disc. But i see only black window ;/ http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/3901/plane01ambientocclusionjo4.jpg
Can someone tell me what to do?

best wishes, zonk

Ls3D
01-07-2007, 12:53 AM
I got lots of hits searching "occlusion render texture" and "occlusion bake texture" - but unfortunately this site has been pretty slow for me lately and I lost my research results.

I know this has been addressed and a solution found, but then with Max versions changing every year we sometimes loose a function.

Maybe if you link to this post in the basic Max section below it will get more eyeballs.

One thought is that the AO pass in render elements works with regular materials and since it looks like you have an AO shader setup it is occluding 100%. Try a basic material with the setup you have now and/or copy the AO shader to the self illumination channel.

-Shea

zonk
01-07-2007, 09:53 AM
Thanks Ls3D!
I've manged to find the topic (http://forums.cgsociety.org/showthread.php?t=405872&highlight=occlusion+render+texture). Just don't assign the AO material to object you want to bake. That's all.

CGTalk Moderation
01-07-2007, 09:53 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.