View Full Version : Dave Wilson

Gelfling
02-18-2003, 03:18 PM
My favorite LW artist

he still amazes me

http://www.3dluvr.com/davewilson/

oxygen_77
02-18-2003, 03:22 PM
Yeah, I've seen his stuff before... really great looking robotics and futuristic looking stuff!

leigh
02-18-2003, 08:40 PM
Yeah he is a really nice guy too :D
I bet he'd get a real kick out of seeing this thread!

He just recently left Cape Town to go work in the States :)

He was, in my opinion, certainly the finest CG artist to hail from South Africa. It was a pity to see him go, but I'm sure he will get to do even cooler stuff where he is now!

roguenroll
02-18-2003, 09:42 PM
yep, thats some great stuff.

Its also nice to see into someones, thought process, and technique, being that I'm not an expert and still have alot to learn.

fourd
02-18-2003, 11:02 PM
Those bots are cool as all hell. But I think the texturing and rendering, are by far the better than the modeling. He put's alot of though into it.

Excellent artist.:drool:

Chagidiel
02-18-2003, 11:27 PM
Jee... Dave Wilson... what can you say :buttrock:

Man... that Seth of his has become something of a LW-icon to me.

Isnīt he a member here?

leigh
02-18-2003, 11:38 PM
Yup Chagidiel, he is, but he doesn't post all that much, because he is always busy :p

ricktu
02-19-2003, 01:20 AM
Originally posted by Leigh

I'll second that. Several months ago I was hunting reference for mechanical creatures and found links to his spider and hence his site. I sent him an email asking a few questions and telling how much both I and my kids loved his work. Very shortly after I got a very friendly reply from him answering all my questions and thanking me for my comments. It's not often that happens. :)

Richard.

Werner
02-19-2003, 08:14 AM
I bet he'd get a real kick out of seeing this thread!

He just recently left Cape Town to go work in the States :)