PDA

View Full Version : How to rig wings?

kychan
01-02-2007, 01:43 PM
Hi, I'm new to motionbuilder. For human characters, it is very easy because everything is automatic if naming is right.

But I am not sure how easy it is to rig "strange characters" in motionbuilder. I actually need to animate something with 4 legs and two wings. I thought it should be as easy as just rigging 4 legs, but I can't figure it out how to rig my wings....

I know there is something called "character extension", and I tried to do that as said in the documentation. I can keyframe the wings now but I don't have IK/FK/control rig??

How can I move my wings easily?

Any tutorials or docs that explain more about "character extension" or rigging wings?

Thanks

doodlyD
01-03-2007, 12:43 AM
u cant create FK_IK controls on wings as controlrig has
u can just rig them as u usualy rig in your 3d app ,exept dynamics
preaty much the same thing only different button names=)
u can use relations constrain and make some damping effect on joints rotation
but i had problems(joint poping ) doing cycles with this type of rigs ?but if u dont need cycles it might be usfull to you

but i thing it is better to use only FK on the wings ,put them in "character extension" to be able make and mirror poses , and that is all =)more control more power

kychan
01-03-2007, 12:58 PM
But I can't seem to move the joints in my wings freely.
How can I rig FK into my wings in MB? any tutorials?

Thanks

doodlyD
01-03-2007, 06:25 PM
u have to disable "Skeleton Lock Trs" in the Show drop down menu in Characters Control window

kychan
01-04-2007, 05:45 AM
Skeleton Lock, OH yes. Thank YOU.

Now only missing some FKs in the wings.
Does anyone know how to create FK manually? for my wings
I want to "just animate" it but I need some FK in my wings.

Thanks

doodlyD
01-04-2007, 02:58 PM
do you mean some FK Visual Controls instead selecting skeleton joints ?

u need to use constrains...for example parent constran joints to locators