PDA

View Full Version : Network Rendering: Can I use my XBOX for this?

paladinsword
01-01-2007, 05:16 PM
Dear CGSociety members,

My computer configuration (as far as I know) is as follows:
AMD Athlon 1.7GHz, ASUS Socket A Motherboard - PC133/VC133, 200/266 MHz FSB AGP 4X,
256 MB SDRAM, 256 MB NVidia GeForce FX 5200 3D Card, 40 GB + 80 GB Hard Disks.

This computer is about 6 to 8 years old (I think) and the graphics card is about two years old. I currently practice my art using 3D Max, Maya and Photoshop.

Now, my questions are:

1. I want to use network rendering to shorten my render times. Do I need Max or Maya installed on both/all the machines in the network to use network rendering?

2. I have an XBOX™ console and I was wondering if I could connect it to my PC and use the console in network rendering. Can I do so?

I am an absolute newbie with network rendering. I know the XBOX™ question sounds silly, but I simply do not have the financial resources to upgrade anytime soon. If I can use the console (provided rendering is possible without multiple software installations and all that jazz), then it would help me a lot.

Could anyone help me with this?

With regards and best wishes,

Jaidev. K (aka, paladinsword)

Srek
01-02-2007, 06:52 AM
Hi,
this question came up several times and each time the answer was no.
For one, afaik not a single render client is available for the XBOX (or any other console).
Secondly, in general the hardware of consoles isn't realy suited for rendering, while the CPU power is sometimes impressive for such a small and cheap device, the memory and calcualtion precision isn't.
Cheers
Björn

salmonmoose
01-02-2007, 07:20 AM
You're pretty stuffed if you use 3dsmax - unless you use a completely separate renderer 3dsmax is windows only, and there is no way to run windows natively on the xbox (i suppose you could emulate it but that would be terrifyingly slow).