PDA

View Full Version : How can I make a 2D side-scrolling game like Contra or Super Mario Bros???

LittleFenris
02-17-2003, 10:00 PM
I know this might seem weird to you folks, but what if i wanted to make an old school Contra or Sonic the Hedgehog style game?? Any game making program out there to do something like this?!

I love 2D side scrolling games like those and would love to take a stab at doing a simple 2D scroller myself. I see a lot of talk about 3D games and game engines but I wanna make an old school game, not the most state of the art 3D game engine known to man. Any advice on how to do that would be AWESOME!!

BTW, I'm not a programmer by ANY means...I am mostly a traditional artist but I know computer based graphics and animation OK.

I use Lightwave 3D 7.5 for 3D, Photoshop, Illustrator, etc...for graphics and Final Cut Pro/AVID/Premiere for video editing. I work at a video production studio doing video editing and some animation for commercials..but nothing too fancy like I'm sure some of you do. My point in telling you this is that I know a lot of the different aspects of graphics and animation but have no clue about programming. I am not totally opposed to learning SOME programming but it is not my thing, so too much and I'm in trouble.

biffen
02-18-2003, 12:36 AM
Macromedia Director 8.5 (latest?) is probably what your looking for. I've seen alot of classic games remade and distributed on the web with Director. I don't know much about it, though. Anybody a Director guru?

Give it a look.

LittleFenris
02-19-2003, 02:20 AM
I've made interactive dvds with video and animation in Director, but I think a video game would be WAAAYYYY past my abilities I'm afraid. :(

ostov
02-19-2003, 07:29 AM