PDA

View Full Version : N8Girard Huntress Torso Maya 8.0

N8Girard
12-27-2006, 06:43 PM
This is my first attempt at one of the challenges. I was intrigued by the model and the feedback that people were submitting so I thought I'd post my own rigging solution on here. I'm working in Maya 8.0. I took the liberty of splitting out the armor pieces and shading them so that I could tell them apart from each other. I also shaded a few extra areas on the Huntress skin since it looks like it has been modeled for such things as boots and underwear. I may or may not work with the existing cloth mesh. It looks nice in T-pose but I'm sure it won't deform pretty in other poses, especially side to side stuff. The armor looks to be fairly well thought out but I'll find out it's intricasies when I go to rig it. I'm excited to try out some stuff with the armor instead of just parenting it to bones. We'll see how it goes. Good luck everyone! ;)

http://emanateimaging.com/images/Huntress_01_sm.jpg

N8Girard
12-27-2006, 08:31 PM
Ok, I have placed the bones now and used jsOrient to orient them all correctly. I tested all of the axis and made sure that they behave properly. The only ones here that might catch your eye as being off is the end effectors which don't matter. I'm doing the cross clavical setup because I generally have better deformations with that one. I may put more bones in simply for deformation purposes, but this is the set I'm primarily binding to and testing with and I'll add others as needed later. Here is the binding skeleton with local rotation axis visible.

http://emanateimaging.com/images/Huntress_02.jpg

I opted for a separated hip/back setup. Selected is where the lower bones start. Here is just the bones from a front and side view:

http://emanateimaging.com/images/Huntress_03.jpg

backstreet-boys
01-02-2007, 10:20 PM
wow
amazing
keep going man

stewartjones
01-03-2007, 12:30 AM