PDA

View Full Version : Big Ben Wallace :)

XTitan
12-26-2006, 12:46 AM
Hey guys, this is my first attempt at a low poly character. It is also my first experience using normal maps and getting them to cooperate. All in all, I'm rather pleased with the result. I picked Ben Wallace because I like the way he plays, very much like myself when I'm on the court, and also because he recently joined the Chicago Bulls and I'm from Chicago. My goal was to keep him under 5000 tris and to successfully implement a normal map.

High and low poly base models were done in 3D Max 8, the high poly model was taken into zbrush for some more sculpting. I also had to break apart the shoes from the rest of the body to try my hand at modeling a show in zbrush. My textures were made in photoshop, with some of Zbrush's help for aligning and fixing seams. I used 3 maps, each 1024x1024(diffuse, normal, spec). I'm probably forgetting to mention something but I'm not sure what. I had fun and I learned alot! That's what's important.

Let me know what you guys think :)

XTitan
12-26-2006, 02:06 PM
Good morning everyone, I'm just putting up some more detailed views of Big Ben here. Everything is a screen grab from 3D Max except for the normal map displayed in the first post. Max wont display a 1024 resolution normal map well in the viewport. There are also no lights in the scene and he isn't rigged or set up for facial morphs, I just quickly opened his mouth to show that he has some teeth :)

XTitan
12-26-2006, 02:10 PM
PART-2
*again, the normal map is just rendered not printscreen.

XTitan
12-27-2006, 04:37 AM
No comments :), I'll take that as a good sign. Here is my UV layout at 50%. Thanks for looking, any and all C&C is welcome.

K_Digital
12-28-2006, 01:47 AM
I'd work on the face a bit more. This is a good start though. You should do a version with that wild fro he likes to wear.

XTitan
12-28-2006, 04:26 AM