PDA

View Full Version : New Guy, Looking for some computer advice. B4 I purchase

thinksink
12-20-2006, 03:36 PM
Hi Everyone,
New to the forum and relatively new to the 3D world. Last May I enrolled in an introductory coarse in Maya and loved it so much, I'm now off to Graduate School. I'm a graphic / web designer who admits I'm a little bias towards Macs. Although I do have quite a bit of experience on PCs, and realize they do have their advantages. I have a G5 at home but have been in the market for a new laptop for quite some time now. I really would like to purchase the right hardware whether it is a Mac or a PC for grad school. I was looking at a ProBook:

2.33GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
ATI Mobility Radeon X1600 graphics with 256MB SDRAM
3GB 667 DDR2 SDRAM

Great Specs Plus I can cross over between operating systems using bootcamp.

Now my only concern is the graphics card, I was told by the university that they are using:

BOXX Dual AMD 64FX 4400, Nvidia Quadro FX 3400 256MB, 3GB RAM
HP XW8200 Dual Xeon 3.4 Ghz, Nvidia Quadro FX 1300 128MB, 2GB RAM

They mentioned some concern about the ATI card on the Probooks because they have not tested it with the applications that I will be using.

My questions are:
How wil the ATI card fare with 3D applications?
Are their better laptop choices?
I looked into BOXX they don't seem to make laptops, do they?
How about companies like voodooPC or alienware?

Money isnít really an object as long as I buy the right equipment.
Thanks for helping out this newbi!

Signal2Noise
12-20-2006, 09:34 PM

My questions are:
How wil the ATI card fare with 3D applications?

In my experience, I've had display problems in certain 3D apps using ATI. I have since used nVidia without any problems.

Are their better laptop choices?

Yes there are.

I looked into BOXX they don't seem to make laptops, do they?

They once did but don't anymore. There's another recent thread about that.

How about companies like voodooPC or alienware?