PDA

View Full Version : Facial Animation with Endo-Morphs

ThreeDBFX
02-16-2003, 05:29 PM
Hey All,

I'm starting to get into facial animtion using endo-morphs. I've got all my emotions setup, as well as all my phonemes. Can anyone pass me some pointers on how to make this work the right way? I'm finding it somewhat difficult. I'm also very new to charactor animation so my experiance is not there yet.

Any help you guys can send my way would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Hamish

Shade01
02-16-2003, 05:33 PM
What is it that's giving you trouble? I wouldnt want to spout off about things you already know :)

ThreeDBFX
02-16-2003, 05:45 PM
Thanks for the very fast reply Shade01!

Well, I'm in layout now. I'm trying to make the charactor make use of all the hard work that went into making those pesky phonemes.

I have the charactor loaded, and Morph-Mixer has all the correct pannels and all. I need to make something happen here. I know when I move the sliders in Morph Mixer the appropriate action takes place. How do I make them work together?

Hard for me to explain...prolly due to my lack of knowledge in this area....but I hope that helps.

Thanks a lot,

Hamish

Shade01
02-16-2003, 06:00 PM
You can use more than one slider at the same time to blend morphs. For this reason, I make all my mouth morphs seperate from any morph that deals with emotion or other facial movement. If you combined the mouth moving and any other type of facial animation, you will have a harder time. And make sure you keyframe a neutral morph inbetween other facial animations, otherwise your morphs will 'drift' from one to another instead of crisp changes between each other.

ThreeDBFX
02-16-2003, 06:04 PM
Thanks Shade01.

I have all my phonemes as separate morphs, as well as the emotions.

When I animate them, how can I tell how long to hold a specific morph so they don't seem to drift from one to another. Graph Editor? I think I'm havin a prblem with timing.

-Hamish

Mike RB