PDA

View Full Version : Ambient Occlusion,Vray


Billabong
12-18-2006, 05:40 PM
Is there a way to render an Ambient Occlusion pass with Vray and if so, how? thanks for any help

SnipeyX
12-18-2006, 05:46 PM
http://plugins.angstraum.at/vrayao/index.htm

enjoy!

Billabong
12-18-2006, 05:56 PM
thank you Snipey

CapitanRed
12-19-2006, 12:17 AM
I might be wrong, but is this plugin really necessary?

as i know ambient occlusion is white GI, without any light. and all mateials are white...

or am i wrong?

Bercon
12-19-2006, 07:48 AM
The plugin just makes those things for you, its actually a maxscript. Like a render preset. However if you wish to limit the ao ray lenght then you are gonna need to use vray dirtmap.

Oh and not white GI but white skylight. It doesn't bounce light around.

CapitanRed
12-20-2006, 01:05 AM
yea, thanks. this is what i meant. white skylight. but it's working only when GI is checked, isn't it? sorry for dumb question...but i'm not sure anymore. i have read it once, but it's some time ago :p

also nice thing to be able to controle it with the dirtmap. have to try that out :)

j-man
12-20-2006, 12:12 PM
yep, the dirtmap.

AO is a little more complicated then GI, materials all white, or skylight ETC. Here is a good read from Chris Thomas:

http://www.christopher-thomas.net/pages/free_tutorials/tut_ambient_occlusion_shader/ct_tut_mentalray_ambientocclusion_shader.htm

this uses mental ray, but the theory is the same.

VRay 1.5 has the dirt shader, which will create AO for you.

Josh.

MikeBracken
12-20-2006, 02:26 PM
You can get pretty close results if you use IR for one primary bounce and no secondary bounces. AO does not calculate "bounces".


Regards,
Mike

CGTalk Moderation
12-20-2006, 02:26 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.