PDA

View Full Version : Brad Blackbourn - CG Cinematographer

PaulHellard
12-15-2006, 03:30 AM
http://features.cgsociety.org/stories/2006_12/brad_blackbourn/blackbourn_banner.jpg

Brad Blackbourn
CG Cinematographer

Brad Blackbourn is a Director & CG Cinematographer who has been working in the CG industry for over ten years. Brad started out in Australia in the early nineties as a self taught CG artist, earning a living doing graphic design during the day & learning 3D at night. His first taste of 3D was a copy of 3D Studio (the old DOS version) that a CAD magazine loaned him on the condition he did reviews of related plug-ins & updates. Knowing he wanted to focus on character animation, he then spent a year cold-calling post-production houses & small studios volunteering his services in return for access to an SGI & a copy of Softimage|3D. He finally convinced a software reseller to let him use their system at night & a few months later got his first paying job in CG - a CG butterfly for a TV commercial. A lot more TV commercial work in Australia followed.

Since then he has set-up and supervised an animation department in Malaysia, pre-visualised & animated on several live-action feature films in Australia, consulted on cinematography/animation pipelines for a number of feature animation studios around the world. He directed CG commercials in Italy, directed animation & camera for a stereoscopic ride film and prior to moving to the USA he directed a CG series in Germany.

For the last few years he has been based in Los Angeles where recently he was Head of Layout/Pre-vis at DreamWorks Animation SKG where he worked on the animated features "Sharktale", "Flushed Away" & "Kung Fu Panda" as well as the CG series "Father of the Pride".