PDA

View Full Version : Why most people set the ik blend attribute to a value from 0 to 10 ?


LunaticuMaster
12-13-2006, 12:25 AM
Why most people set the ik blend attribute to a value from 0 to 10 ?

On the wrist control (nurbs circle or whatever) you add attribute that controls the switch between ik and fk right?

Well why don't people make that attribute as boolean? The make it as int that goes from 1 to 10 and they use set driven keys...

Someone please explain this?

magilla
12-13-2006, 01:30 AM
not all fk-ik systems have a proper switch which aligns one system to another, usually you have to eyeball the alignment. Therefore, to compensate they add the ability to blend in and out of one system to another without any popping.

=magilla

dragonlair81
12-13-2006, 03:25 AM
like magilla said if your rig doesn't have a switch that matches your ik to fk or fk to ik then a blend between 1 and 10 gives you the ability to animate the switch over a couple frames so you don't have pop in your animation.

CGTalk Moderation
12-13-2006, 03:25 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.