PDA

View Full Version : When to charge

JackaL(px)
02-15-2003, 12:06 AM
I have been using photoshop for about 6 months now, mainly doing logos for friends and some websites, recently i did a wallpaper and am now working on a big Poster for a mate.

I find doing things with photoshop really enjoyable and getting paid for it would be a real bonus, i have very limited knowledge of HTML at the moment but plan to learn it, some general things to do with flash and 3dsmax.

Whats a good way to get into the business and earn money? :beer: being 16 and at 6th form/college i dont really wanna go out and get a full time job but freelancing would be good.

Reading some of the worse comments things in general disscussion is a good laugh, havent had much problem with that, as i normally get them to say exactly what they want or to say that i can do as i please, but it sounds frustrating!

:bounce:

singularity2006
02-15-2003, 04:39 AM
as a college freshiemeat, I charge per project. The full time good skilled pros charge hourly. And generally, the rule is for hourly, u take something like 6x what you get from your regular day job. But yeah, per project, I generally charge about $400-$600 depending on the size of the project. That's my rate for websites.

dg
02-15-2003, 06:22 AM
How much do you know?
What kind of results you can achive?
Wich technologies you are able to implement?
What do you have to do on the project?, scan, text, animation, design, compositing, video editing, 3D, flash, shockwave....
How big the project is?
Can you handle the project alone?
Do you need programing?

All these factors will make all the diferences in the project final price and the in the delivery time.

For starting I would only get simple things, just to get an idea of the work, how long do you take to do things and things like that.
Is useless charge 600USD for a project that you will spend 6 months doing, so you must consider all these factors to get a honest price for you client and for you.