PDA

View Full Version : A few questions

Refacull
12-12-2006, 01:56 AM
Ok, so newbie here with a few Q's.

So after looking around reading some tuts and looking at various other resources this question may seem obvious to you guys, however it wasn't to me. Matte painting, is it creating your own photoshop image from a reference photo. Combining multiple photos with a bit of color modifications. Or a mix of the 2. I've seen all 3 so far, just curious what the most dominant is.

The next question is, is photoshop a good program to start this with. I am thinking of getting that program, though will PSP be sufficient enough to get me started before I drop a few hundred.

Not the last question overall, but for this post. Should I purchase a wacom or a scanner. I already have a fairly decent digital camera. What items do I need to start this venture into digital painting.

I appreciate your time and should you reply, your responses.

Artbot
12-12-2006, 09:48 PM
There's a popular misconception, even in this forum, that "matte painting" is defined by a singular process ("Buy yourself Photoshop and then do this..."). "Matte painting" has and always will be the process of filling in parts (or the whole) of an image that would be too costly to build at full scale on a movie set.

With that in mind, matte paintings can be anything: photos, 3d, 2d painting, even photos of hand-built miniatures, or any combination of those media. The goal is to make it scene appropriate and realistic. - that's it. The only thing that's not appropriate is using someone else's copyrighted photos for commercial purposes (I see no problem using them for your own non-commercial practice artwork).

The matte painter's goal, as I see it, should be to have an ideal image in their mind (or roughed out on paper or screen), then use whatever tools are avaialble to create that image. If you feel the tools are holding you back from getting the results you seek, then consider switching or upgrading.