PDA

View Full Version : Clean Up Those Voxels

Ozoka
12-11-2006, 10:46 PM
Hi... im new to the maya software, but i was playing around with the maya fluid (explosions) and when i rendered it out it looked pretty voxely...how can i clean this up...my grid size is res:50 sizexyz:20.

Ozoka
12-12-2006, 01:42 AM
after look at some other threads i guess i need to figure out how to texture it... i guess its the fluid shader, but anyway i really dont know where to start...help

phildog
12-12-2006, 02:26 AM
Hi there,
well firstly you could try to change the shading quality -> render interpolator to smooth rather than linear.

then if that doesnt work add a bit of diffuse (content details-> density-> diffusion) in your actual simulation.

essencedesign
12-12-2006, 05:37 PM
Just turn on texturing and start to play with some of the Attr's....there is really no easy way to learn fluids unfortunatly, rather it's better to make changes in your shading and texturing tab's do a test render, make more changes, test again, ect ,ect. This would be my advice, once you know what your working with you'll know what to change to accomidate your needs. First thing switch over to Mental Ray for your test renders if you haven't already, shading settings of -3 min and -1 max will cut your render itmes to almost 1/8th of a software render. Try to use grid texturing if you can , the texture will be pushed around through the velocity grid which works well for explosions and fire. But if your sim is too long it will streak out. Turn up the frequency of your texture , play with the Amplitude, ratio and Freq Ratio, all so turn up Depth max to at least 4. Be patient and be prepared to put some time in to learn all the functions there are a few key Attr's that you will use more than others.
Cheers
Jer

Ozoka
12-12-2006, 11:07 PM