PDA

View Full Version : How to deal with jittery hand while drawing on tablet?

batavia
12-09-2006, 10:40 PM
Sorry, I'm a complete newbie at using the tablet here. Yesterday at my school I found out I could borrow one in the computer lab, and I had fun with it, to say the least.
The hardest thing is how the surface is unlike that of a paper. With paper, even if your hand is jittery, because of the high friction and pressure you put on the pen, a drawn line will be smooth. But with the wacom tablet, the surface is more slippery, and if I put pressure to steady my hand, the line drawn will be too heavy; plus, the extra pressure that I put to steady the hand feels unnatural, thus the drawing is less accurate.

So how do I make things feel more natural?
(I'm sorry if this is an easy question. I had to leave quickly yesterday, so I didn't get to look around for the options)

MisterStash
12-10-2006, 01:06 AM
How about taping some paper on top of the tablet?

batavia
12-10-2006, 01:29 AM
Good idea O_O

But, is there an option anyway that deals with that sensitivity? The paper method sounds like an ideal one, but I'm just curious about my question.

MisterStash
12-10-2006, 02:21 AM
I'm not sure I understand your question... do you mean something that will smooth out your lines?

Datameister
12-10-2006, 06:48 AM
This is definitely a problem in Photoshop. Painter has damping options that smooth out the strokes a little; for this reason, I'd heavily recommend using Painter for linework, rather than Photoshop. However, when individual brush strokes aren't going to be too visible, Photoshop does a great job. It's just not the most accurate software for drawing.