PDA

View Full Version : Maya Fluids - Emit by texture?


Skyros
12-07-2006, 06:24 PM
Hey Everyone,
Im working on a project using maya fluids and was wondering if anyone could shed some light on how to have fluids emit from a greyscale map? I havent been able to figure it out thus far. I ran a search but didnt really find definite answers.

Once suggestion was script it, but Im not familiar enough with maya yet to do that.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Mike

pgraham
12-07-2006, 07:04 PM
Yeah, you really have to use scripting. You can load a texture into the fluid using the paint fluids tool, but when you simulate, it will blow away the image. You have to keep the texture in a static fluid container (with disable evaluation turned off), and use the get/setFluidAttr commands to copy the texture from the static container into a dynamic container every frame.

CGTalk Moderation
12-07-2006, 07:04 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.