PDA

View Full Version : maya 6.0.1 plugin compiling on Mac...

sparaig
12-06-2006, 10:21 PM
Yes, I know I'm 2 generations out of date. I'm an unemployed student with too much free time and no means to upgrade right now...

Anyway, I'm trying to compile the helloWorld plug-in on the Mac using the latest version of xcode and thought I had followed the steps in the API manual, but got this series of errors. Any suggestions on how to proceed?:

Building target “helloCmd” of project “helloCmd” with configuration “Development” — (2 errors, 1 warning)
[...]
@executable_path/libplds4.dylib:/Applications/Alias/maya6.0/Maya.app/Contents/MacOS/libplds4.dylib
ld: warning prebinding disabled because of undefined symbols
ld: Undefined symbols:
__ZTI10MPxCommand
/Applications/Alias/maya6.0/devkit/plug-ins/build/helloCmd.build/Development/helloCmd.build/Objects-normal/ppc/helloCmd.o reference to undefined __ZTI10MPxCommand
/usr/bin/libtool: internal link edit command failed
__ZTI10MPxCommand
/Applications/Alias/maya6.0/devkit/plug-ins/build/helloCmd.build/Development/helloCmd.build/Objects-normal/ppc/helloCmd.o reference to undefined __ZTI10MPxCommand
Build failed (2 errors, 1 warning)

wdavidlewis
12-07-2006, 01:48 AM
So, first off, I'm not a Mac programmer, so all I can give is pretty general advice. If you're an experienced C/C++ programmer, anything I say below will probably be obvious to you already. Now that we have the caveats out of the way...

What you're getting is linker errors that indicate that the linker couldn't find definitions for functions/classes you're using in your code. "__ZTI10MPxCommand" is the mangled name of MPxCommand. MPxCommand is the class your command is inheriting from.

On Windows, the MPxCommand class is in the OpenMaya.lib library. So, I think you need to link with the library that has the MPxCommand class in it, and I would try OpenMaya first.